The Board of Directors of the BID is comprised of seven property owners (Class A) and two tenants with commercial leases (Class B) in the downtown Yonkers geographic area defined in the establishing legislation. These members are elected by a vote of their respective class every two years at the Annual Meeting. Also on the board are one resident (Class C) and three ex officio members (the Mayor, the Chief Financial Officer of the City and the Council person in whose district the BID properties lie) (Class D).

The Board of Directors of the BID for 2019-20 are:

  • Ken Dearden, DW Capital (Class A)
  • Alvaro Penalba, New York Community Bank (Class A)
  • Roger Ayuso, Roger’s Furniture (Class A)
  • Jim Cavanaugh, Waterfront Development Corp. (Class A)
  • Avi Aarons, Rising Development (Class A)
  • Michael Mitnick, AMS Acquisitions
  • Philip Gesue, Strategic Capital
  • Cecilia Zuniga, La Pinata Bakery (Class B)
  • Vacant, (Class B)
  • Robert Hothan, Resident (Class C)


Ex officio Class D:

  • John Liszewski, City of Yonkers, Finance Commissioner
  • Hon. Michael J. Spano, Mayor
  • Hon. Shanae Williams, Yonkers City Councilwoman, 1st District